Rui Moreno, PhD

NOVA Medical School

Rui P. J. Moreno obtained his Medical Degree in 1985 from the Faculty of Medical Sciences, Lisbon, Portugal. After obtaining his European Diploma in Intensive Care Medicine in 1991, he obtained his specialisation in Internal Medicine, in 1993, his PhD in 1997 (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, The Netherlands), it´s specialization in Emergency Medicine in 2003 and in Management of Health Care organizations (2005) and the Pan-American and Iberian diploma in Intensive Care Medicine in 2009. He has been Professor at the Medical Sciences Faculty of the NOVA Medical School in Lisbon since 2012. Working full-time in Intensive Care since 1990 he was from 2003 to 2012 the Director of the Intensive Care Unit of the St. António dos Capuchos Hospital and is Director of the Neurocritical and Trauma Intensive Care Unit of the São José Hospital, University Central Lisbon Hospital, since 2012.

Professor Moreno has been the Principle Investigator and Steering Committee member for several clinical trials, including SOFA, BASIC, ERIC, SOAP, Ventila I-IV, ELOISE, SAPS 3, EUSOS SEE I- II, VIP-1 -3 and CoVIP. He was Chair of the Committee responsible for the 2012 review of the Surviving Sepsis Guidelines, created by the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine and the Critical Care Medicine Society (USA) and member of the Committee for the 2016 revision. He was part of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine Committee for definitions of shock (2008) and Severe Acute Pancreatitis (ESICM/SCCM) and the European Society of Cardiology 2005 Guidelines Committee on the diagnosis and treatment of acute heart failure. He has participated in the organization of around 200 scientific meetings, organized some 50 postgraduate courses, and made over 1000 presentations in national and international scientific meetings. In addition to serving as a reviewer for numerous journals, he has edited 5 books, published 270 manuscripts and 136 abstracts. He was President of the Portuguese Society of Intensive Care (2006-2008), President of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (2009-2011), Past-President and member of the European Board of Intensive Care and is a member of several medical societies. Recipient of the ESICM Medal in 2016 and Honorary member of the Portuguese, Brasilian and Serbian Societies of Intensive Care Medicine.